top of page


Contact:  Mary Curtis Horowitz



For immediate release



July 1, 2020, New Brunswick, NJ –The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy has selected twenty-five scholars to receive grants for research in the social sciences for the 2019 award year.  Those receiving awards, their research topics, and the institutions with which they are affiliated are listed at the end of this announcement.


“This year we received 965 applications, the largest number in our history,” said Mary E. Curtis. “The twenty-five applicants who are receiving awards this year represent less than 3 percent of those who applied. The Trustees consider their work on topics of social and political importance to be vibrant examples of how policy research can help us address the challenges of today’s complex society.”


About the Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy

Established in 1998, the Horowitz Foundation now approves approximately twenty-five grants each year. Awards are for $7,500; proposals in certain targeted areas receive additional amounts. In addition, the Irving Louis Horowitz Award is given to the overall most outstanding project proposal, and the Trustee’s Award is given to the project proposal that is deemed most innovative in theory and/or methodology. Awards are granted for policy-related research in all major areas of the social sciences. Only doctoral students whose  dissertation proposals have been approved by their committees are eligible to apply. Awards are approved solely on merit, and are not allocated so as to ensure a representative base of disciplines.


Research grants are open to researchers in all social science disciplines. Projects must deal with contemporary issues in the social sciences, particularly issues of policy relevance. Applicants need not be citizens of the United States, and grants are not restricted to U.S. residents.


Applications for 2020 Awards

The Foundation will begin accepting applications for 2020 awards later this month. The deadline for receipt of all materials for proposals for the year 2020 is December 1, 2020.  Incomplete applications will not be processed. Awards for 2020 will be announced in June, 2021.


Additional information, including a list of previous recipients, is available on the Horowitz Foundation website.

2019 Horowitz Foundation Award Winners

(Alphabetical order)


David J. Amaral, University of California, Santa Cruz        

Threatening Local Democracy: the political consequences of urban violence


Michele Cadigan, University of Washington

Cannabis-Infused Dreams: A Market at the Crossroads between Criminal and Conventional


Christina Nefeli Caramanis, The University of Texas at Austin

Income, Policy, and Stable Center-Based Childcare: Towards Reducing the Achievement Gap


Andreas de Barros, Harvard University       Martinus Nijhoff Award       

Establishment-Level ICE Raids: Causes and Consequences


Daniel Driscoll, University of California San Diego

A Comparative Analysis of Carbon Price Enactment


Benjamin Elbers, Columbia University       John L. Stanley Award

Understanding changing racial school segregation in the U.S.


Natalia Emanuel, Harvard University

Smudges: Criminal Records and Employment in the US


Michael Evangelist, University of Michigan

Crime and Punishment in the Welfare State: How Political, Economic, and Social Factors Condition the Administration of Penalties for Program Violations                


Shannon Malone Gonzalez, The University of Texas at Austin 

In Her Place: Black Women Redefining and Resisting Police Violence


Hunter Johnson, Claremont Graduate University 

Does the Presence of Female and Minority Police Reduce the Use of Force?


Navin Kumar, Yale University      

Social interactions and treatment outcomes from medication assisted treatment in opioid addiction


Joe LaBriola, University of California, Berkeley

Local Housing Policy and Wealth Inequality


Sadé Lindsay, The Ohio State University

Effects of Contradictory Signals on Post-Prison Labor Market Outcomes


Tim McDonald, Pardee RAND Graduate School

Developing and Testing a Consumer-Driven Approach to Changing Incentives in American Healthcare


Molly Merrill-Francis, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

The Impact of State Minimum Wage Laws on Fatal Occupational Injury


Brittany Paige Mihalec-Adkins, Purdue University     

Explaining Variation in Legal Outcomes and Well-Being Trajectories for Child Welfare-Involved Families in the Era of the Adoption and Safe Families Act


Stephanie Casey Pierce, The Ohio State University

Locked Out and Locked Up? Investigating the Relationship Between Eviction and Incarceration


Daniel Prinz, Harvard University       Robert K. Merton Award 

The Multiethnic Suburb: New Ground for Racial Residential Integration in the United States


Owen Schochet, Georgetown University

Unpacking the causal effects of two-generation early intervention services on the outcomes of low-income children and their families


Jessica C. Smith, Virginia Commonwealth University

Assessing School Safety in the Age of Threat Assessment: A Policy Study


Noémie Sportiche, Harvard University       Eli Ginzberg Award

Does Economic Growth Benefit All? The Health Consequences of Being Poor in a Booming City Economy


Arielle W. Tolman, Northwestern University       Donald R. Cressey Award

Criminal Prosecution of Prisoners with Mental Illness


Matthew Unrath, University of California, Berkeley       Trustees’ Award

Can Nudges Increase Take-up of the Earned Income Tax Credit?: Evidence from Multiple Field Experiments


Fabricio Vasselai, University of Michigan       Irving Louis Howard Award and Joshua Feigenbaum Award  

Elections in the AI era: using Machine Learning and Multi-Agent Systems to detect and study menaces to election integrity


Chagai M. Weiss, University of Wisconsin – Madison 

Reducing Prejudice through State Institutions

Mary Curtis Horowitz, Chairman

Irving Louis Horowitz, Chairman Emeritus

Post Office Box 7

Rocky Hill, New Jersey, 08553-0007

bottom of page