top of page


Contact:  Mary E. Curtis



For immediate release




May 23, 2017, New Brunswick, NJ – The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy has selected twenty scholars to receive grants for research in the social sciences for the 2016 award year. Those receiving awards, their research topics, and the institutions with which they are affiliated are listed at the end of this announcement.


“This year the foundation saw a marked increase in not just the number of applications, but also the number of applicants holding citizenship in other countries, although surprisingly all recipients attend US institutions,” said Chairman, Mary E. Curtis. “The winners were chosen by the Trustees for their potential to contribute to social policy on both a global and local level. As we look forward to celebrating our twentieth year in 2018, we hope to continue aiding international scholars at home and abroad.”


About the Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy

The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy was established in 1997 by Irving Louis Horowitz and Mary E. Curtis as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Its general purpose is to support the advancement of research and understanding in the major fields of the social sciences. Its specific purpose is to provide small grants to aspiring PhD students at the dissertation level to support the research they are undertaking for their project. Grants are awarded solely on the Trustees’ assessment of the merit of the project. All awards are to individuals, and not institutions.

Since inception, the foundation has awarded grants to more than 200 scholars from over 100 different universities around the world. An increasing number of applications cross traditional disciplinary boundaries, which speaks to the importance of policy studies in the academic world and beyond.

Applications for 2017 Awards

Award applications for next year open July 1, 2017 and all application materials are due on December 1, 2017. This represents a deadline change from previous years, which will enable award announcements to be made before the end of the academic year. Applicants are encouraged to begin their application online as early as possible. Incomplete applications will not be processed. Award winners for 2017 will be announced in May 2018.


Additional information, including a list of previous recipients, is available on the Horowitz Foundation website

2016 Horowitz Foundation Award Winners

Burcu Baykurt

Columbia University

“The City as Data Machine: Local Governance in the Age of Big Data”


Andrew Breck

New York University

“The Effect of Participation in Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program on Health and Healthcare Expenditure”


Vicki Chen

University of Pennsylvania

“Paying to Stay: Why Medicare's Payment System for Home Health Care leads to Inefficiency and Waste”


Elizabeth Clark

Duke University

“Policy Demand and the Rights to Organize: Emergence of Cooperative Fishery Governance”


Ellen Dinsmore

University of Wisconsin, Madison

“Blurring the Thin Blue Line: The Rise of the ‘Military Model’ in American Policing”


Philip Garboden

Johns Hopkins University

“The Geography of Profit: How Landlord Decisions Impact the Supply and Location of Subsidized Housing”


Ausmita Ghosh

Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

“Maternal and Infant Health Impacts of Public Health Insurance Expansions”


Sebastian Lemire

University of California, Los Angeles

“Meta-Modeling Assertive Community Treatment”


Erik Lin-Greenberg

Columbia University

“Game of Drones: The Effect of Technology on Conflict Onset and Initiation”


Timothy Passmore      

University of Colorado Boulder

“Pacifying the Peacekeepers: How Involvement in UN Peacekeeping Reduces the Domestic Threat of the Military”


Rebecca Perlman

Stanford University

“When Regulations Fail: Setting Standards Under Asymmetric Information”


Davin Reed

New York University

“Distributional and Welfare Effects of Gentrification”


Manuel Rosaldo

University of California, Berkeley

“From Informal Work to Decent Work? Integrating Waste Pickers into Formal Waste Management in Brazil and Colombia”


Shiran Shen

Stanford University

“The Inconvenient Truth of the Political Pollution Cycle: Theory and Evidence from China”


Benjamin Shestakofsky

University of California, Berkeley

“Working Algorithms: Software Automation and the Future of Work”


Talia Shiff

Northwestern University

“‘Framing the Case’: Bureaucratic Efficiency Pressures in the Humanitarian Politicization, Legitimation, and Adjudication of Refugee Claims”


Sujeong Shim

University of Wisconsin, Madison

“Catalytic Politics: When do International Monetary Fund (IMF) Programs Trigger Private Capital into the Borrowing Country?”


Jamie Sommer

Stony Brook University

“Is Bilateral Environmental Aid Effective? A Cross-National Analysis of Forest Loss”


Andreas Wiedemann

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

“Borrowed Dreams: Household Debt and the Social Policy Mismatch in Germany, Denmark, and the United States”


Alon Yakter

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

“Circles of Solidarity: Diversity and Welfare Policies in Developed Democracies”


Special Awards are granted to projects that are considered outstanding in certain fields of research and come with additional grant money. Special Awards were selected as follows:


2016 Special Award Recipients

Donald R. Cressey Award                  Ellen Dinsmore

Eli Ginzberg Award                             Vicki Chen

Harold D. Lasswell Award                 Timothy Passmore

Robert K. Merton Award                    Alon Yakter

Martinus Nijhoff Award                     Ausmita Ghosh

Irving Louis Horowitz Award            Erik Lin-Greenberg

Mary E. Curtis, Chairman

Irving Louis Horowitz, Chairman Emeritus

Post Office Box 7

Rocky Hill, New Jersey, 08553-0007

bottom of page