top of page


Contact:  Jennifer Nippins


For immediate release



September 12, 2017, New Brunswick, NJ –The Horowitz Foundation announces the appointment of three new members of its Board of Trustees.


Joining the Board of Trustees are Wanda J. Blanchett, Francine Conway, and Richard L. Edwards. “All three are leaders in their fields and have distinguished academic careers. Their work is oriented toward real-world policy applications and international awareness, which dovetails nicely with the mission of the foundation,” said Chairman, Mary E. Curtis. “The new trustees are all affiliated with Rutgers University, where the foundation is now located. As we celebrate our twentieth year, we hope that this connection will reinforce our long-standing relationship with the university.”


Wanda J. Blanchett is Dean and Distinguished Professor in the Graduate School of Education at Rutgers University. Professor Blanchett’s research focuses on educational inequity, including urban teacher preparation; issues of race, class, culture, and gender; students of color in special education; severe disabilities; transition planning; and sexuality in students with disabilities. 


Francine Conway is Dean and Distinguished Professor in the Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology at Rutgers University. Professor Conway is a licensed clinical psychologist who has been practicing and teaching for seventeen years. Her scholarly focus is on aging and child psychopathology. Professor Conway’s acclaimed TEDx talk on her research and clinical work with children diagnosed with ADHD has gained a national audience.


Richard L. Edwards is Chancellor Emeritus of Rutgers University (2014 to 2017). Prior to his appointment as Chancellor, Dr. Edwards served as Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs from 2011 to 2014. He is past president of the National Association of Social Workers and has written extensively on issues related to social work education and nonprofit and public management. 

About the Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy

The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy was established in 1997 by Irving Louis Horowitz and Mary E. Curtis as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Its general purpose is to support the advancement of research and understanding in the major fields of the social sciences. Its specific purpose is to provide small grants to aspiring PhD students at the dissertation level to support the research they are undertaking for their project. Grants are awarded solely on the trustees’ assessment of the merit of the project. All awards are to individuals, and not institutions.

Applications for 2017 Awards

Award applications are open and all materials are due on December 1, 2017. Applicants are encouraged to apply online as early as possible. Award winners for 2017 will be announced in May 2018. Additional information is available on the Horowitz Foundation website


The full list of board members is below:


Irving L. Horowitz (1929–2012), Founding Chairman

Rutgers University

Mary E. Curtis, Chairman

President, Transaction Publishers (1997-2017)

Ray C. Rist, Vice Chairman

The World Bank

David J. Armor

George Mason University


James T. Bennett

George Mason University


Wanda J. Blanchett

Rutgers University

Jonathan D. Breul

Georgetown University

Francine Conway

Rutgers University

Richard L. Edwards

Rutgers University

Pearl Eliadis

Law Office of Pearl Eliadis

David Listokin

Rutgers University


J. Christopher Mihm

United States Government Accountability Office

Rosemary A. Stevens

Weill Cornell Medical College

James Wright

University of Central Florida

Mary E. Curtis, Chairman

Irving Louis Horowitz, Chairman Emeritus

Post Office Box 7

Rocky Hill, New Jersey, 08553-0007

bottom of page