top of page


Contact:  Mary E. Curtis



For immediate release



May 29, 2018, New Brunswick, NJ –The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy has selected nineteen scholars to receive grants for research in the social sciences for the 2017 award year. Those receiving awards, their research topics, and the institutions with which they are affiliated are listed at the end of this announcement. 

“This year the foundation celebrated its 20th year of providing graduate education funding in the social sciences. Our grants remain among the largest available to social science students,” said Chairman, Mary E. Curtis, “ranging from $7,500 to $12,500. The awards remain highly competitive, with only about 4% of completed applications receiving awards. With our new online application system it is now simpler than ever to apply.”


About the Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy

The Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy was established in 1997 by Irving Louis Horowitz and Mary E. Curtis as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Its general purpose is to support the advancement of research and understanding in the major fields of the social sciences. Its specific purpose is to provide small grants to aspiring PhD students at the dissertation level to support the research they are undertaking for their project. Grants are awarded solely on the Trustees’ assessment of the merit of the project. All awards are to individuals, and not institutions. Applicants need not be US citizens or based in the United States. 

Since inception, the foundation has awarded grants to well over 200 scholars from over 100 different universities around the world. An increasing number of applications cross traditional disciplinary boundaries, which speaks to the importance of policy studies in the academic world and beyond.

Applications for 2018 Awards

Award applications for next year open July 1, 2018 and all application materials must be received by December 1, 2018. Applicants are encouraged to begin their application online as early as possible. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Award winners for 2018 will be announced on or before June 1, 2019.

Additional information, including a list of previous recipients, is available on the Horowitz Foundation website

2017 Horowitz Foundation Award Winners

(Alphabetical order)


Gulrez Azhar                         Pardee RAND Graduate School

Indian Summer: Three Essays on Heatwave Vulnerability, Estimation, and Adaptation


Laura Bellows                       Duke University

Immigration Enforcement and Student Achievement           


Danielle Carr                         Columbia University

The Privatized Cyborg: Emergent Forms of Personhood in Neural Implants for Psychiatric Disorder        


Robert Collinson                   New York University

The Causes and Consequences of Residential Evictions: Evidence from New York City   


Sharon Cornelissen               Princeton University

Greening the Neighborhood: Community, Bucolic Blight, and Race in Northwest Detroit


Veronica Horowitz                The University of Minnesota 

Towards a Sociology of Mercy: A Mixed Methods Analysis of Commutation Release in the United States                       


Surabhi Karambelkar          University of Arizona

Hydropower on the Colorado River: Examining Institutions, Conflicts, and Consequences of Changing Dam Operations      


Michael Laughlin                  University of Missouri-Columbia

Racial Disparity in Police Killings     


David Lucas                           George Mason University

Alleviating Homelessness: Assessing an Alternative Approach        


Adam Markovitz                   University of Michigan Medical School

Formation, Impact, and Perspectives of Accountable Care Organizations   


Matthew Pecenco                  University of California, Berkeley

Do Rehabilitative Prison Policies Work? Evidence from a Natural Experiment in the Dominican Republic           


Isabel Perera                          University of Pennsylvania

States of Mind: The Comparative Political Economy of Mental Health         


Deepak Premkumar             University of California, Berkeley

The Ferguson Effect: Do High-Profile Fatal Encounters with Police Lead to Reductions in Arresting Intensity?       


Kelly Russell                          University of Michigan

Becoming Good Investments: Pay for Success and the Financialization of Deservingness 


William Schpero                    Yale University

Robbing Peter to Pay Paul: Who Gains When States Increase Investment in Medicaid?    


Michael Schumacher            Loyola University Chicago

Dying to Fight: The Individual and Social Processes of the Foreign Fighter Phenomenon  


Aparna Soni                          Indiana University

Reducing Health Disparities among People Diagnosed with Cancer: The Role of Public Health Insurance Expansions     


Mary Stitt                               University of Texas at Austin

Medicalizing Justice: Therapeutic Alternatives in the Criminal Courts         


Margaret Thomas                 Boston University

Material Hardship, Public Program Participation, and Children’s Wellbeing


2017 Special Award Recipients

Donald R. Cressey Award                   Michael Laughlin       

Eli Ginzberg Award                             David Lucas

Harold D. Lasswell Award                 Michael Schumacher  

Robert K. Merton Award                    Danielle Carr              

Martinus Nijhoff Award                      Gulrez Azhar

John L. Stanley Award                       Sharon Cornelissen

Irving Louis Horowitz Award             Adam Markovitz

Mary E. Curtis, Chairman

Irving Louis Horowitz, Chairman Emeritus

Post Office Box 7

Rocky Hill, New Jersey, 08553-0007

bottom of page